Bronson Honors Four Doctors with 2020 Compassionate Physician Award

Published on December 15, 2020

From left to right, Drs. Badarinath, Bwititi, Liscow and Spirito.Bronson Honors Four Doctors with 2020 Compassionate Physician Award

In December, Bronson awarded four doctors with the 2020 Compassionate Physician Award. Nominated and chosen by their peers, the winners are:

  • Maddur Badarinath, MD (far left in photo), a critical care physician at Bronson Adult Critical Care in Battle Creek. In his current role, Dr. Badarinath sees the most seriously or critically ill patients at Bronson Battle Creek Hospital, including those currently battling COVID-19.
  • Tamayi Bwititi, MD (middle left in photo), an infectious disease specialist and family medicine physician caring for patients of all ages at Bronson LakeView Family Care in Paw Paw. He enjoys getting to know his patients each as an individual and treating them as a whole person.
  • David Liscow, MD (middle right in photo), a family medicine physician at Bronson Family Medicine – Blue Star in South Haven. Dr. Liscow cares for patients of all ages for minor medical issues to chronic conditions and everything in between.
  • Ernest “Skip” Spirito, MD (far right in photo), is a palliative care and emergency medicine physician at Bronson Advanced Illness Management in Kalamazoo. In his role, he optimizes quality of life and minimizes suffering among patients at Bronson Methodist Hospital with serious, complex illness, often at the end of their lives—serving in a key role during the COVID-19 pandemic.

“A compassionate physician demonstrates empathy for difficult feelings, courage as well as both excellent communication and clinical skills,” says Michelle Halley, MD, a physician with Bronson Pediatric Critical Care Specialists and The Bronson Children’s Hospital and chair of Bronson’s physician wellness committee. “Our 2020 winners consistently provide patients and families with compassionate, comprehensive and caring medical services. They also show this compassion with their clinical colleagues at Bronson.”

Compassionate Physician Fund

The 2020 Bronson Compassionate Physician(s) of the Year award is presented through the Gretchen LaReau Memorial Fund at the Kalamazoo Community Foundation for Kalamazoo County and through the Bronson Health Foundation for Calhoun and Van Buren Counties. This fund was created by Dr. Allan and Rita LaReau in 1993, to honor the memory of their daughter Gretchen, who died of cancer. Learn more.